Project 8[ended]

MRT-based Portrayal of the Anatomical Connectivity within the Cortex-Basal Ganglia

DThe precise localisation of targets for presurgical planning before deep-brain stimulation (DBS) is limited due to the anatomical variability within basal ganglia and thalamus structures. However, the therapeutic success of DBS depends to great extend on the optimal position of the electrodes within the target area. The insufficient knowledge about individual topography of functional subregions within the basal ganglia hampers the optimal presurgical planning as well as the prediction of therapeutic outcome after DBS.

Novel developments in the field of non-invasive probabilistic tractography based on diffusion-weighted magnetic resonance imaging enable robust and reliable intraindividual exploration of thalamus/basal ganglia subregions within theoretically and neurophysiologically predefined functional cortico-subcortical loops.

The main goal of our project is the precise and reliable in vivo delineation of functional subregions within basal ganglia and thalamus in patients undergoing DBS. The neuroanatomical data will be used for the presurgical planning of optimal target location and further correlated with clinical outcome measures as well as neurophysiologic parameter derived from the intraoperative recordings.

Prof. Dr. med. Bogdan Draganski, Principal Investigator
Charité – Campus Virchow Klinikum
Department of Neurology
Augustenburger Platz 1
13353 Berlin
Tel.: +49-30-450 560 038
Fax: +49-30-450 560 938
E-mail: bogdan.draganski@charite.de
Dr. med. Ettore Accolla, Postdoc
Charité – Campus Virchow Klinikum
Department of Neurology
Augustenburger Platz 1
13353 Berlin
Tel.: +49-30-450 576 819
Fax: +49-30-450 560 938
E-mail: ettore.accolla@charite.de

Projekt 8 [beendet]

MRT-basierte Darstellung der anatomischen Konnektivität innerhalb der Kortex-Basalganglien

Die präoperative Lokalisation der Zielpunkte für die tiefe Hirnstimulation (THS) ist aufgrund der anatomischen Variabilität im Bereich der Basalganglien (BG) und Thalamus problematisch. Allerdings wird der Therapieerfolg der THS wesentlich durch eine optimale Elektrodenposition bestimmt. Die unzureichenden Kenntnisse über die individuelle Topographie funktioneller Subareale der BG des Menschen stellt ein Hindernis zur optimalen Zielpunkt-Planung vor THS Implantation und Vorhersage des therapeutischen Erfolgs dar.

Neue methodische Entwicklungen aus der eigenen Gruppe auf dem Gebiet der nicht-invasiven probabilistischen Traktographie von diffusionsgewichteten kernspintomographischen (MRT) Daten erlauben die zuverlässige intraindividuelle Exploration von Thalamus/BG-Subarealen innerhalb theoretisch, tierexperimentell und neurophysiologisch gut definierter funktioneller kortiko-subkortikaler Schleifen.

Ziel unseres Projekts ist die präzise und zuverlässige in vivo Darstellung der funktionellen Subareale der BG und Thalamus bei Patienten vor geplanter THS. Die neuroanatomischen Daten sollen für die Bestimmung eines optimalen Elektrodenzielpunktes zur THS genutzt und mit dem klinischen Erfolg der THS sowie neurophysiologischen Parametern der intraoperativen Ableitungen korreliert werden.

Prof. Dr. med. Bogdan Draganski, Projektleiter
Charité – Campus Virchow Klinikum
Klinik für Neurologie
Augustenburger Platz 1
13353 Berlin
Tel.: +49-30-450 560 038
Fax: +49-30-450 560 938
E-mail: bogdan.draganski@charite.de
Dr. med. Ettore Accolla, Postdoc
Charité – Campus Virchow Klinikum
Klinik für Neurologie
Augustenburger Platz 1
13353 Berlin
Tel.: +49-30-450 576 819
Fax: +49-30-450 560 938
E-mail: ettore.accolla@charite.de