Project 5

Emotional processing in the limbic cortex – cortex – basal ganglia loop.

Affective disturbances such as emotional lability, depression, but also maniac episodes occur in up to 25% of patients undergoing deep brain stimulation (DBS) of the subthalamic nucleus (STN) for severe Parkinson’s disease (PD). At the same time, modulation of affect is the major goal of deep brain stimulation in patients with therapy refractory depression (TRD).

These observations have lead to questions which remained unanswered up to date: How does DBS alter the mood or affective state of a patient? What are the specific roles of the different limbic cortex basal ganglia nuclei for emotional processing? Which patients are most at risk for adverse effects and which have the most benefit from DBS therapy?

In Project 5 we address these questions using direct recordings of multi unit activity (MUA) and local field potentials (LFP) of DBS therapy related areas in the limbic cortex – basal ganglia – loop (STN, subgenual cingulate cortex, Ncl. Accumbens, Bed nucleus of stria terminalis). We will characterize neuronal correlates of emotional processing in patients with PD and TRD and correlate these with relevant clinical and behavioural parameters in order to better understand the influence of DBS on emotional behaviour.

Specifically we aim to establish neurophysiological markers to identify PD patients with an increased risk to develop affective disorders under DBS therapy. In patients with TRD we plan to characterize such markers to predict the therapeutic benefit, to optimize the neurosurgical targeting and to find the best DBS stimulation parameters.

Prof. Dr. Andrea Kühn, Principal Investigator
Charité – Campus Virchow Klinikum
Department of Neurology / AG Bewegungsstörungen
Augustenburger Platz 1
13353 Berlin
Tel.: +49-30-450 560 123 (Secretariat)
Fax: +49-30-450 560 901
E-mail: andrea.kuehn@charite.de
Dr. Christof Brücke, Postdoc
Charité – Campus Virchow Klinikum
Department of Neurology / AG Bewegungsstörungen
Augustenburger Platz 1
13353 Berlin
Tel.: +49-30-450 660 279
Fax: +49-30-450 560 938
E-mail: christof.bruecke@charite.de
Dr. Julius Huebl, Postdoc
Charité – Campus Virchow Klinikum
Department of Neurology / AG Bewegungsstörungen
Augustenburger Platz 1
13353 Berlin
Tel.: +49-30-450 660 279
Fax: +49-30-450 560 938
E-mail: julius.huebl@charite.de
Dr. Angela Merkl, Psychiatrist (Rahel-Hirsch Scholar)
Charité – Campus Virchow Klinikum
Department of Neurology / AG Bewegungsstörungen
Augustenburger Platz 1
13353 Berlin
Tel.: +49-30-450 576 819
Fax: +49-30-450 560 938
E-Mail: angela.merkl@charite.de
Wolf-Julian Neumann, PhD Student
Charité – Campus Virchow Klinikum
Department of Neurology / AG Bewegungsstörungen
Augustenburger Platz 1
13353 Berlin
Tel.: +49-30-450 576 819
Fax: +49-30-450 560 938
E-mail: julian.neumann@charite.de

Projekt 5

Emotionale Reizverarbeitung in der limbischen Kortex – Basalganglien Schleife

Affektive Störungen wie emotionale Labilität, Depression, aber auch manische Episoden werden als Nebenwirkung bei bis zu 25% der Patienten mit idiopathischem Parkinsonsyndrom (IPS) während der tiefen Hirnstimulation (THS) im Nucleus subthalamicus (STN) beobachtet. Dem gegenüber steht die therapeutisch gewünschte Affektmodulation durch THS in limbischen Arealen bei Patienten mit therapierefraktärer Depression (TRD).

Es ist bisher weitgehend ungeklärt, wie die Stimmungslage eines Patienten durch THS beeinflusst wird, welche spezifische Rolle die unterschiedlichen Relais-Stationen im limbischen Regelkreis für die emotionale Reizverarbeitung spielen und welche Patienten gefährdet sind oder aber am besten von der Therapie profitieren.

In Projekt 5 untersuchen wir mittels direkter Ableitung von Multi-Unit- Aktivität und lokalen Feldpotentialen aus THS-relevanten Arealen der limbischen Kortex-BG-Schleife (STN, subgenuales Cingulum, Ncl. Accumbens und Bed nucleus der Stria terminalis) neuronale Korrelate der affektiven Reizverarbeitung bei Patienten mit IPS und TRD und korrelieren diese mit behavioralen und klinischen Parametern, um den Einfluss der THS auf Emotionalität besser zu verstehen.

Ziel ist es, elektrophysiologische Marker zu charakterisieren, um IPS Patienten mit erhöhtem Risiko für affektive Störungen zu identifizieren, wohingegen bei Depressionspatienten Marker als Prädiktoren für den zu erwartenden Therapieeffekt nach THS, zur Zielpunktbestimmung und Optimierung der THS-Stimulationsparameter erforscht werden sollen.

Prof. Dr. Andrea Kühn, Projektleiterin
Charité – Campus Virchow Klinikum
Klinik für Neurologie / AG Bewegungsstörungen
Augustenburger Platz 1
13353 Berlin
Tel.: +49-30-450 560 123 (Sekretariat)
Fax: +49-30-450 560 901
E-mail: andrea.kuehn@charite.de
Dr. Christof Brücke, Postdoc
Charité – Campus Virchow Klinikum
Klinik für Neurologie / AG Bewegungsstörungen
Augustenburger Platz 1
13353 Berlin
Tel.: +49-30-450 660 279
Fax: +49-30-450 560 938
E-mail: christof.bruecke@charite.de
Dr. Julius Hübl, Postdoc
Charité – Campus Virchow Klinikum
Klinik für Neurologie / AG Bewegungsstörungen
Augustenburger Platz 1
13353 Berlin
Tel.: +49-30-450 660 279
Fax: +49-30-450 560 938
E-mail: julius.huebl@charite.de
Dr. med. Dipl.-Psych. Angela Merkl, Rahel-Hirsch-Stipendiatin
Charité – Campus Virchow Klinikum
Department of Neurology / AG Bewegungsstörungen
Augustenburger Platz 1
13353 Berlin
Tel.: +49-30-450 576 819
Fax: +49-30-450 560 938
E-Mail: angela.merkl@charite.de
Wolf-Julian Neumann, Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter
Charité – Campus Virchow Klinikum
Klinik für Neurologie / AG Bewegungsstörungen
Augustenburger Platz 1
13353 Berlin
Tel.: +49-30-450 576 819
Fax: +49-30-450 560 938
E-mail: julian.neumann@charite.de