Project 3

Cortico-subcortical interactions and local neuronal dynamics in Parkinson’s Disease

Summary

Numerous studies have established an association between Parkinson’s Disease (PD) and abnormal neuronal oscillations in cortico-basal ganglia (BG) networks. While the main emphasis was on the demonstration of the fact that excessively strong beta oscillations in subthalamic nucleus (STN) relate to motor deficits in PD, the relevance of ongoing cortical activity and cortico-BG coherence to PD still awaits deeper investigation. In particular, methods commonly used to study neuronal oscillations and interactions in cortico-BG had intrinsic limitations owing to the lack of spatial specificity and analytic restrictions, being primarily based on investigating linear interactions in cortico-BG.

In the present proposal we plan to use a complementary set of newly developed multivariate techniques (such as Spatio-Spectral Decomposition, Cross-Frequency Decomposing, Regression Coherence) to characterize linear and non-linear neuronal interactions between cortex and BG in patients with PD. We will put a particular emphasis on cross-frequency neuronal interactions in cortico-BG networks with the idea to identify mechanisms through which a major cortical oscillatory activity, represented by alpha oscillations, can modulate beta oscillations representing the most dominant rhythm in BG.

Specifically, such non-linear interactions could further our understanding of cortical contributions to the therapeutic effects of STN-DBS. Moreover, in order to address causal implications of changes in cortico-BG oscillatory activity for movement impairment in PD, we plan to study a link between instantaneous changes in the parameters of neuronal oscillations, evoked responses, and concurrent movement parameters.

Main results from the previous funding period (2011–2013)

  • Demonstration of the existence of long-range temporal correlations in local field potential recordings (LFP) from STN of patients with PD. The long-range temporal correlations were decreased after levodopa withdrawal in 13–35 Hz and ~300 Hz oscillations (Hohlefeld et al., 2012).
  • Demonstration of genuine functional and effective connectivity (i.e., not due to volume conduction) in STN-LFP recordings of patients with PD. Increased functional connectivity (10–30 Hz oscillations) after levodopa administration correlated with motor improvement in UPDRS (Hohlefeld et al., 2013a).
  • Demonstration of long-range temporal correlations in electroencephalographic recordings (6–30 Hz oscillations) of patients with essential tremor. Thalamic deep brain induced-changes in cortical long-range temporal correlations correlated with the tremor severity and disease duration (Hohlefeld et al., 2013b).
  • Development of a novel method (Source Power Correlation) that maximizes the correlation between the amplitude of neural oscillations and cognitive-motor variables, thus allowing the extraction of neural components that most strongly predict behavioral parameters, e.g., movement parameters in PD (Dähne et al., 2014).

Website:

https://sites.google.com/site/neurophysicsgroup/

Dr. rer. nat. Vadim V. Nikulin, Principal Investigator
Charité – Campus Benjamin Franklin
Department of Neurology / AG Neurophysik
Hindenburgdamm 30
12203 Berlin
Tel.: +49-30 8445 4706
Fax: +49-30 8445 4264
vadim.nikulin@charite.de

Prof. Dr. med. Gabriel Curio, Principal Investigator
Charité – Campus Benjamin Franklin
Department of Neurology / AG Neurophysik
Hindenburgdamm 30
12203 Berlin
Tel.: +49-30 8445 2276
Fax: +49-30 8445 4264
gabriel.curio@charite.de

Dr. phil. Friederike U. Hohlefeld, Postdoc
Charité – Campus Benjamin Franklin
Department of Neurology / AG Neurophysik
Hindenburgdamm 30
12203 Berlin
Tel.: +49-30 8445 4703
Fax: +49-30 8445 4264
friederike.hohlefeld@gmx.de

Projekt 3

Kortiko-subkortikale Interaktionen und lokale neuronale Dynamiken bei Morbus Parkinson

Projektinhalte

Eine Vielzahl von Studien zeigt einen Zusammenhang zwischen Morbus Parkinson und dem Auftreten von abnormalen neuronalen Oszillationen in kortiko-Basalganglien-Netzwerken. Bislang lag ein Hauptaugenmerk auf der Erforschung der Korrelation zwischen exzessiv ausgeprägten Beta-Oszillationen im subthalamischen Nukleus (STN) und motorischen Symptomen. Weitaus weniger bekannt ist jedoch die Relevanz von spontaner kortikaler Aktivität und neuronaler kortiko-Basalganglien-Kohärenz für klinische Defizite bei Morbus Parkinson. Bisher wurden zur Analyse von neuronalen Oszillationen und Interaktionen in kortiko-Basalganglien-Netzwerken weitestgehend lineare Auswertungsmethoden verwendet, die jedoch räumliche Spezifität entbehren und analytische Einschränkungen beinhalten.

In unserem Projekt kommen daher neu entwickelte multivariate Analysemethoden (z. B. Räumlich-Spektrale Dekomposition, Kross-Frequenz-Dekomposition, Regressions-Kohärenz) zur Anwendung, um komplementär lineare und nicht-lineare neuronale Interaktionen zwischen Kortex und Basalganglien bei Morbus Parkinson zu charakterisieren. Ein besonderer Schwerpunkt in unserem Projekt liegt auf neuronalen Kross-Frequenz-Interaktionen in kortiko-subkortikalen Netzwerken. Hierbei sollen Mechanismen untersucht werden, durch die dominante kortikale Aktivität (Alpha-Oszillationen) möglicherweise modulierend auf dominante neuronale Aktivität in den Basalganglien (Beta-Oszillationen) wirken kann.

Die Untersuchung speziell von nicht-linearen Interaktionen in kortiko-subkortikalen Netzwerken kann zum Verständnis der Relevanz von kortikaler Aktivität für therapeutisch wirksame subthalamische Stimulation beitragen. Darüber hinaus liegt ein Projektschwerpunkt auf der Untersuchung von möglichen kausalen Auswirkungen der Variabilität in kortiko-Basalganglien-Interaktionen auf motorische Defizite bei Morbus Parkinson. Hierfür werden die momentan-Fluktuationen in neuronalen Oszillationen zeitgleich mit evozierten Potentialen und Bewegungsparametern in Verbindung gesetzt.

Hauptergebnisse aus der ersten Förderperiode (2011–2013)

  • Nachweis neuronaler Langzeitkorrelationen im STN (lokale Feldpotentiale) bei Patienten mit Morbus Parkinson. Nach Levodopa-Entzug waren diese Langzeitkorrelationen in 13–35 Hz und ~300 Hz Oszillationen erniedrigt (Hohlefeld et al., 2012).
  • Nachweis funktionaler und effektiver Konnektivität (befreit von Volumenleitungsartefakten) im STN in lokalen Feldpotentialen bei Patienten mit Morbus Parkinson. Erhöhte funktionelle Konnektivität in 10–30 Hz Oszillationen nach Levodopa-Gabe korrelierte mit der Verbesserung motorischer Symptome im UPDRS (Hohlefeld et al., 2013a).
  • Nachweis von Langzeitkorrelationen in elektroenzephalographischen Ableitungen (6–30 Hz Oszillationen) bei Patienten mit Essentiellem Tremor. Die thalamische Tiefenhirnstimulations-indizierte Modulation von kortikalen Langzeitkorrelationen korrelierte mit der Tremor-Schwere und Krankheitsdauer (Hohlefeld et al., 2013b).
  • Entwicklung einer neuen Methode (Source Power Correlation) zur Maximierung der Korrelation zwischen der Amplitude neuronaler Oszillationen und kognitiv-motorischen Variablen. Dies erlaubt die Extraktionen jener neuronalen Komponenten, welche die Vorhersage behavioraler Parameter optimieren, z. B. Bewegungsparameter bei Morbus Parkinson (Dähne et al., 2014).

Internetseite:
https://sites.google.com/site/neurophysicsgroup/

Dr. rer. nat. Vadim V. Nikulin, Projektleiter
Charité – Campus Benjamin Franklin
Klinik für Neurologie / AG Neurophysik
Hindenburgdamm 30
12203 Berlin
Tel.: +49-30 8445 4706
Fax: +49-30 8445 4264
vadim.nikulin@charite.de
Prof. Dr. med. Gabriel Curio, Projektleiter
Charité – Campus Benjamin Franklin
Klinik für Neurologie / AG Neurophysik
Hindenburgdamm 30
12203 Berlin
Tel.: +49-30 8445 2276
Fax: +49-30 8445 4264
gabriel.curio@charite.de
Dr. phil. Friederike U. Hohlefeld, Postdoc
Charité – Campus Benjamin Franklin
Klinik für Neurologie / AG Neurophysik
Hindenburgdamm 30
12203 Berlin
Tel.: +49-30 8445 4703
Fax: +49-30 8445 4264
friederike.hohlefeld@gmx.de