Project 1 [ended]

Cellular plasticity during high frequent stimulation in the subthalamic nucleus in mouse model of Parkinson’s disease

Deep brain stimulation (DBS) induces changes in the basal ganglia that can be regarded as a system of coupled plasticity mechanisms. Based on our previous experience in the analysis of developmental plasticity in sensory systems, we study a relatively wide spectrum of possible alterations during and after high frequency stimulation of the subthalamic nucleus (STN).

This project focuses on changes in the intrinsic functional properties of neurons and astrocytes in the STN and on glutamatergic and GABAergic synaptic transmission in STN target areas. We use slice preparations that largely conserve the connectivity of the basal ganglia which allows us to analyse pathophysiological processes on several levels, i.e. at subcellular level, in single neurons, neuron pairs and in neuronal nets. To this end, we apply electrical and optical stimulation techniques as well as patch clamp recording and vital imaging.

Currently, we compare DBS-related changes in the STN itself as opposed to changes in the substantia nigra pars reticulata (SNr). We have discovered two mechanisms that may account for STN depression: i) an increased failure rate in the action potential generation and ii) vesicle depletion in the axons of glutamatergic STN neurons. The latter mechanism takes place in the STN itself (axon collaterals) and in the target area. So far there is little evidence for a long term depression of the STN-nigral pathway.

Prof. Dr. Rosemarie GrantynProf. Dr. Rosemarie Grantyn, Principal Investigator
Charité – Campus Mitte
Cluster of Excellence NeuroCure & Department of Experimental Neurology
Synaptic Dysfunction Group
Robert-Koch-Platz 4
10115 Berlin
Tel.: +49-30-450 528 101
Fax: +49-30-450 528 952
E-mail: rosemarie.grantyn@charite.de

Projekt 1 [beendet]

Zelluläre Plastizität bei hochfrequenter Stimulation im Nucleus subthalamicus von Parkinson-Mäusen

Die tiefe Hirnstimulation (THS) induziert in den Basalganglien Umstellungen, die als System gekoppelter Plastizitätsmechanismen verstanden werden können. Auf Erfahrungen bei der Erforschung von Entwicklungsplastizität in sensorischen Systemen aufbauend, untersuchen wir eine relativ weit gefasste Palette von möglichen Veränderungen während und nach hochfrequenter Stimulation des Nucl. subthalamicus (STN-THS).

Der Schwerpunkt liegt bei Veränderungen im Bereich der intrinsischen Eigenschaften von Neuronen und Astrozyten und der glutamatergen und GABAergen synaptischen Transmission. Wir verwenden Schnittpräparate, in denen die Konnektivität der Basalganglien weitgehend erhalten ist und analysieren die uns interessierenden Prozesse auf mehreren Ebenen, d.h. subzellulär, in einzelnen Zellen, in Zellpaaren, im Netzwerk und auf der funktionellen Ebene. Zum Einsatz kommen elektrophysiologische und bildgebende Techniken sowie morphometrische Verfahren. Im Moment stehen akute Veränderungen in der Substantia nigra pars reticulata (SNr) während und unmittelbar nach STN-THS im Vordergrund.

Die ersten Ergebnisse wiesen auf zwei Mechanismen hin, die eine Suppression der STN-Funktion reflektieren: i) failure in der Generierung von Aktionspotentialen und ii) Vesikeldepletion in den Axonen der glutamatergen Fasern der STN-Neurone. Letzterer Mechanismus, d.h. die reduzierte Glutamatfreisetzung ist eine Veränderung nicht nur im STN selbst, sondern auch in der Zielregion. Bisher gibt es jedoch keine Anzeichen für eine dauerhafte Abregulation der STN-Ausgangssignale im Sinne einer Langzeitdepression der synaptischen Übertragung.

Prof. Dr. Rosemarie Grantyn, Projektleiterin
Charité – Campus Mitte
Cluster of Excellence NeuroCure & Experimentelle Neurologie
Synaptic Dysfunction Group
Robert-Koch-Platz 4
10115 Berlin
Tel.: +49-30-450 528 101
Fax: +49-30-450 528 952
E-mail: rosemarie.grantyn@charite.de